Fall Breakfast: Fluffy Pumpkin Pancakes

photo 3(1)  These pancakes are perfect for a Sunday morning brunch or, if you’re like me, any morning is perfect for them.  I happen to making all kinds of things full of pumpkin because I went to Costco and found pumpkin there.  Great price and I probably won’t run out for quite some time! (pumpkin cinnamon rolls to come)!!

We try to a breakfast that consists of protein, fruit and a piece of bread because Kellan is a bagel/bread/muffin/pancake junkie.  I try to keep those items limited but he usually gets egg whites, banana and a piece of bread with almond butter and jam.  On Sundays, I bake and we get treated to a delicious and not nutritious brunch.

I feel like these pancakes are pretty healthy, if you look at the ingredient list.  So have fun indulging in these fall favorites of mine!

photo 2(2)

Adapted from Pioneer Woman

3 cups Flour (she uses cake flour)
1 teaspoon Salt
2 Tablespoons Baking Powder
3 Tablespoons Sugar
2 cups Canned Pumpkin Puree
2 whole Eggs
3 teaspoons Vanilla
2-1/2 cups Hemp Milk
1/4 teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice

In a large bowl, sift together flour, salt, baking powder, and sugar.

In another bowl, whisk together pumpkin puree, eggs, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, and milk. Slowly add wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Once combined, if mixture needs more moisture, splash in a little more milk. Batter should be pourable.

I use a little butter in my pan to keep the pancakes from sticking and I add as necessary.  I wait until one side is nice and bubbly and then I flip it over.

We used agave nectar (you could use maple syrup) and pecan pieces to serve these babies up with.  I love that they aren’t super sweet and they have a beautiful pumpkin flavor.

photo 1(2)

Leave a comment